2024 Book Prizes

The Philosophical Society of Texas presents three book prizes annually, each with a $2,500 prize - a Fiction Prize, a Nonfiction Prize, and a Poetry Prize. For the upcoming prizes, all entrants must have been published in 2023 and either be about Texas or have been written by an author who has resided in or who was born within the boundaries of the Republic of Texas as set forth by the Congress of the Republic in 1836. (See a map here.) Books about Texas receive special consideration. 

The winning authors will be invited to attend the awards ceremony during the 2025 Annual Meeting (February 22nd) on South Padre Island to receive their prize and do a book signing. Judges may withhold the prizes at their discretion.

Entrants must complete this submission form online, then submit  copies of each book to be entered by mailing them to:
The Philosophical Society of Texas, P.O. Box 160144, Austin, TX 78716.

The deadline is August 30, 2024. Contact Society Executive Director, Dawn Orsak, with questions at dorsak@pstx.org.