Book Prizes



The Philosophical Society of Texas presents three literary prizes annually, each with a $2,500 prize: one for a work of fiction, one for a nonfiction book, and one for a volume of poetry. The winning authors are invited to attend the Annual Meeting to receive the awards and sign books. Judges may withhold the awards at their discretion.

The deadline for submissions for the Society's 2024 Book Prizes (for books published in 2023) is August 30, 2024. Submission guidlines are here. Please contact Society staff with questions.

Nonfiction Prize Winners


Publication Date





Winner - Unsettled Land: From Revolution to Republic, the Struggle for Texas

Sam W. Haynes

Basic Books


Honorable Mention - Brackenridge: San Antonio’s Acclaimed Urban Park

Lewis F. Fisher

Trinity University Press


Winner - Inside the Texas Revolution: The Enigmatic Memoir of Herman Ehrenberg

James E. Crisp

Texas State Historical Association


Honorable Mention - With the Bark Off: A Journalist's Memories of LBJ and a Life in the News Media

Neal Spelce with Thomas Zigal

University of Chicago Press


Winner - The People's Revolt: Texas Populists and the Roots of American Liberalism

Gregg Cantrell

Yale University Press


Honorable Mention - George T. Ruby: Champion of Equal Rights in Reconstruction Texas

Carl H. Moneyhon

Texas Christian University Press


Fiction Prize Winners


Publication Date Title Author Publisher
2023  Winner - The Leopard is Loose Stephen Harrigan Knopf
2023 Honorable Mention - More Than You’ll Ever Know  Katie Gutierrez William Morrow
2023 Honorable Mention - Nobody's Pilgrims Sergio Troncoso Lee & Low Books: Cinco Puntos Press
2022 Winner - The Song Leader Jan Reid Texas Christian University Press
2021 Winner - Simon the Fiddler Paulette Jiles William Morrow
2021 Honorable Mention - The End of October Lawrence G. Wright Knopf
2021 Honorable Mention - Valentine Elizabeth Wetmore Harper
2020 Winner - Dragonfly Leila Meacham Grand Central Publishing


Poetry Prize Winners


Publication Date Title Author Publisher
2023 Winner - Anchor Rebecca Aronson Orison Books
2022 Winner - Speaking with Grackles by Soapberry Trees César Leonardo de Leon Flowersong Press
2022 Honorable Mention - Welcome to Midland Logen Cure Deep Vellum Publishing
2021 Winner - Improvisation Without Accompaniment Matt Morton BOA Editions
2021 Honorable Mention - Maps of Injury Chera Hammons Sundress Publlications
2020 Winner - JazzHouse Eduard Vidaurre Prickly Pear Publishing
2018 Winner - Girldom Megan Peak Perugia Press
2016 Winner - Barbarossa Jonathon Fink Dzanc Books
2015 Winner - New and Selcted Poems James Hoggard Texas Christian University Press
2014 (Inaugural Prize) Winner - Once in the West Christian Wiman Farrar, Straus and Giroux